EBay mobile app error Showing “FREE SHIP”!

I Do Not Offer “Free Shipping” In My Ebay Listings!

~Okay, I know maybe some of you are surprised to see me posting in my blog on Monday (which I don’t usually do). Well something strange happened to me in ebay during the past weekend and I do think it will be a good thing to share with my followers/ visitors here.

Actually, I missed out some interesting posts in the ebay community that I usually don’t visit there often (due to spending too much time stitching and making my ornaments). So, all of you know I ‘list and end’ ebay listings on Saturday. Yap, Saturday is my ebay time. lol. Okay, so my previous ebay auctions ended the past Saturday. So, the “glitch ebay mobile app drama” happened on that day too. Yap.. I became one of the victim of theebay mobile app Free Shipping glitch / error / bug” or whatever you like to call or name it. At first, I do not know what this thing was all about. Usually when my listing ended with a winning bidder, ebay will automatically send the buyer an ebay invoice request for payment. One of my regular ebay buyer won 2 items that day. When she received the invoice, without checking carefully on the amount, she paid on the spot. But later, she notice the amount was not correct and send me 3 messages (well, very angry messages). Read on and you will know why she is very angry with me.

She was using her smartphone ebay mobile app to view my listings. And they show clearly as “Free Shipping”. But over my side, they show the actual flat rate shipping cost ($4.80). To make long story short, I am lucky to have a understanding buyer (well if you happen to be also an ebay seller, good luck to you), we communicated and exchange several ebay messages. I refunded her the shipping cost and specially offer her a Free  Shipping. I knew something was not very right from the start because nothing seems wrong with this buyer, she came back to me for more purchases. She is one of my regular customer. So I do trust her. But .. over my side, I do feel abit unfair. Because I have been a very honest seller in ebay for over 14 years. What had happened that make my listing showing Free Shipping? I’m confused. I knew my notebook was alright not being hacked. So what really happened?? I reported to ebay right away. This is a very serious thing and is misleading to my buyers. I hate being the bad guy being mistaken stealing my customer’s money for extra shipping cost whereby it should be Free Shipping by viewing using a smart phone. But I do not list my items as Free Shipping in the first place. 

Maybe some of you have encountered the same incident before. Well, maybe I just the few lucky ones to fall into the list that day. Or maybe just being lucky to encounter today. Yes! It’s the glitch in ebay mobile app showing Free Shipping on some mobile devices but to view the same listings using a regular computer, it will show the shipping cost. Misleading Right? This is actually an old topic that happened in 2009, today it is 2015. 7 years old Bug still not resolved by ebay.  😦

Check out this link below to view the post in ebay community on the ebay mobile app problem:
http://community.ebay.com/t5/Tools-Apps/Why-is-shipping-showing-up-as-FREE-when-it-s-not-Its-on-a-Smart/td-p/2921084

Ebay do refund the seller for extra fees paid. But honestly, I do not think this is not the best solution.  The worst part of this whole thing, causing more misunderstanding between sincere sellers and buyers to debate who’s right who’s wrong. But in the actual fact, both parties are right! Ebay should do something about this. Honestly, being with ebay for 14 years, I really do enjoy myself selling there. I know most of my old regular customers there. But on the other hand, to be very honest, todays ebay is not the past ebay I knew. Technical issues, high demand over seller’s performance and higher insertion fee and FVF fee are lots of key problems I see in todays ebay.

I miss year 2000 ebay!! (lol. if only I can return back to the past)

 

Leave a Reply

